Distinguished Career Professorship Program 

The Distinguished Career Professorship Program was established by the Office of the Provost to honor selected senior VCU faculty members who meet certain eligibility criteria by awarding them an honorary designation of Distinguished Career Professor in exchange for their agreement to retire or separate from their tenured faculty position within 12 months from the date of the approval of a Distinguished Career Professorship. This honorary designation also allows these selected faculty to retain this title post retirement, should they be eligible for re-employment as noted below.

The deadline for faculty to apply to their respective department chair is March 15, 2024. 

Eligibility criteria: 

To be eligible for a Distinguished Career Professorship, a faculty member must be actively employed in a tenured faculty position and meet the following criteria as of December 31 of the year prior to application: 

  1. Have held the rank of full or associate professor at VCU for a minimum of ten (10) years;
  2. Have a sustained record of excellence in teaching, research, and/or service; and,
  3. Have a sustained record of outstanding contributions to VCU and their department/school/college, as recognized by their departmental faculty committee.

How to apply

2023 Distinguished Career Professors

  • Etti G. Baranoff, Ph.D., School of Business
  • Albert D. Farrell, Ph.D., College of Humanities and Sciences
  • David W. Harless Ph.D., School of Business
  • Karen M. Kester, Ph.D., College of Humanities and Sciences
  • Shiv N. Khanna, Ph.D.,  College of Humanities and Sciences
  • Andrew C. Larner, M.D., Ph.D.School of Medicine
  • M. Alexander Meredith, Ph.D., School of Medicine
  • Andrea L. Pozez, M.D., School of Medicine
  • Sarah Kye Price, Ph.D., School of Social Work
  • Daniel L. Riddle, Ph.D., College of Health Professions
  • Jayaraman Vijayakumar, Ph.D., School of Business

2022 Distinguished Career Professors

  • Terry L. Austin, Ph.D., School of the Arts
  • Kia J. Bentley, Ph.D., School of Social Work
  • Robert J. DeLorenzo, M.D., School of Medicine
  • Gregorio Gil, Ph.D., School of Medicine
  • Edward L. Millner, Ph.D., School of Business
  • Kathryn A. Murphy-Judy, Ph.D., College of Humanities and Sciences
  • Kweku-Muata Osei-Bryson, Ph.D., School of Business
  • John T. Patykula, M.Mus., School of the Arts

2021 Distinguished Career Professors

  • Clive M. Baumgarten, Ph.D., School of Medicine
  • Patrick M. Beardsley, Ph.D., School of Medicine
  • David R. Burns, D.M.D., School of Dentistry
  • Norman V. Carroll, Ph.D., School of Pharmacy
  • Brian T. McMahon, Ph.D., College of Health Professions
  • William R. Muth, Ph.D., School of Education
  • John E. Nestler, M.D., School of Medicine
  • Joseph H. Porter, Ph.D., College of Humanities and Sciences
  • Carolyn (Cindy) A. Watts, Ph.D., College of Health Professions

2020 Distinguished Career Professors

  • Gloria J. Bazzoli, Ph.D., College of Health Professions
  • Elizabeth Waterhouse, M.D., School of Medicine
  • R. Todd Stravitz, M.D., School of Medicine
  • Jeffrey Kreutzer, Ph.D., School of Medicine
  • Dolores Clement, Dr.P.H., College of Health Professions
  • Robert Diegelmann, M.D., School of Medicine
  • Michael J. McCue, D.B.A., College of Health Professions
  • James H. McMillan, Ph.D., School of Education

2019 Distinguished Career Professors

  • Blue Wooldridge, D.P.A., L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs
  • Avrum Shriar, Ph.D., L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs
  • John Svirsky, D.D.S., School of Dentistry
  • Alphonse Sirica, Ph.D., School of Medicine
  • Ananda Pandurangi, M.D., School of Medicine
  • George Moxley, M.D., School of Medicine
  • Jeanne Salyer, Ph.D., School of Nursing
  • Kenneth Wynne, Ph.D., College of Engineering